Confirmation2018-10-09T16:38:15+00:00

The Sacrament of Confirmation

Confirmation is the Sacrament that completes Baptism and is one of the Sacraments of Initiation. Thorough this Sacrament, we receive the gifts of the Holy Spirit and we are given the strength to witness to God’s love in both word and deed. The Sacrament can only be administered once and leaves a permanent or indelible mark on a person’s soul – marking them out forever as a Christian.

Through the Sacrament of Confirmation we become full members of the Catholic Church and are called to be witnesses for our faith to all those whom we encounter.

At the Cathedral, Young People often celebrate their Confirmation from Years 7 (11 – 12 years old) or above having undertaken a sacramental preparation programme.

Confirmation Programme for Northampton Cathedral and St Aidan’s Parish 2018/2019

Parent Session

Tuesday 11th September – Starting at 7pm

Enrolment Mass (Northampton Cathedral)

Sunday 25th November 2018 – Enrolment Mass at 5.15pm (please arrive at 4.45pm)

Candidate Sessions

All sessions for Young People are between 7pm – 8.30pm and will take place at the Cathedral

Monday 8th October 2018
Monday 15th October 2018
Monday 5th November 2018
Monday 12th November 2018
Monday 19th November 2018
Monday 26th November 2018
Monday 14th January 2019
Monday 21st January 2019
Monday 4th February 2019
Monday 20th May 2019

Confirmation Retreat Day

(Ridgeway Centre, Milton Keynes – Transport will be provided for Candidates on the day)

Saturday 23rd March 2019 – All day retreat – more information to follow

Saturday 8th June 2019 – Rehearsal

3pm-5pm Candidates and Sponsors Please note that the Confirmation Sponsor must be a practising Catholic and available for the rehearsal on both the 8th and 9th June.

Sunday 9th June 2019 – CONFIRMATION MASS – Time 5.15pm Cathedral

(Candidates and Sponsors to arrive 45mins before the start time)

For Adults who wish to enter into full communion with the Catholic Church, there is an RCIA programme. For more details of the programme for adults click here.