Confirmation 2017-10-13T16:51:13+00:00

The Sacrament of Confirmation

Confirmation is the Sacrament that completes Baptism and is one of the Sacraments of Initiation. Thorough this Sacrament, we receive the gifts of the Holy Spirit and we are given the strength to witness to God’s love in both word and deed. The Sacrament can only be administered once and leaves a permanent or indelible mark on a person’s soul – marking them out forever as a Christian.

Through the Sacrament of Confirmation we become full members of the Catholic Church and are called to be witnesses for our faith to all those whom we encounter.

At the Cathedral, Young People often celebrate their Confirmation from Years 7 (11 – 12 years old) or above having undertaken a sacramental preparation programme.

Confirmation Programme 2017/2018

 Parent Session
Monday 25th September – Starting with Mass at 7pm 

 

Candidate Sessions
All sessions for young people are between 7pm – 8.30pm.
Thursday 16th November 2017– Programme Induction
Thursday 23rd November 2017

Enrolment Mass
26th November – Enrolment Mass at 5.15pm (please arrive at 4.45pm)

Candidate Sessions
All sessions for young people are between 7pm – 8.30pm.
Thursday 7th December 2017
Thursday 11th January 2018
Thursday 18th January 2018
Thursday 8th February 2018
Thursday 22nd February 2018
Thursday 8th March 2018
Thursday 19th April 2018
Thursday 26th April 2018
Thursday 10th May 2018
Thursday 17th May 2018

 Retreat Day
Saturday 28th April 2018
All day retreat – more information to follow

Saturday 19th May 2018 – Rehearsal
3-5pm Candidates and Sponsors Please note that the confirmation sponsor must be a practising Catholic and available for the rehearsal on both the 19th & 20th May.

 Sunday 20th May 2018 – CONFIRMATION MASS
Time 5.15pm Cathedral
(Candidates and sponsors to arrive at 45mins before the start time)

For Adults who wish to enter into full communion with the Catholic Church, there is an RCIA programme. For more details of the programme for adults click here.