Confirmation 2017-05-22T21:20:18+00:00

The Sacrament of Confirmation

Confirmation is the Sacrament that completes Baptism and is one of the Sacraments of Initiation. Thorough this Sacrament, we receive the gifts of the Holy Spirit and we are given the strength to witness to God’s love in both word and deed. The Sacrament can only be administered once and leaves a permanent or indelible mark on a person’s soul – marking them out forever as a Christian.

Through the Sacrament of Confirmation we become full members of the Catholic Church and are called to be witnesses for our faith to all those whom we encounter.

At the Cathedral, Young People often celebrate their Confirmation from Years 7 (11 – 12 years old) or above having undertaken a sacramental preparation programme. For more details of the programme please see below.

For Adults who wish to enter into full communion with the Catholic Church, there is an RCIA programme. For more details of the programme for adults see below.

Young People’s Confirmation programme 2016 / 2017

Parent Session
Monday 26th September – Starting with Mass at 7pm

Programme Introduction & Enrolment Mass
10th November – Programme Induction
13th November – Enrolment Mass at 5.15pm

Candidate Sessions – All sessions for young people are between 7pm – 8.30pm.
Thursday 24th November 2016
Thursday 1st December 2016
Thursday 12th January 2017
Thursday 19th January 2017
Thursday 2nd February 2017
Thursday 9th February 2017
Thursday 2nd March 2017
Thursday 16th March 2017
Thursday 27th April 2017
Thursday 4th May 2017
Thursday 18th May 2017

Retreat Day – TBC

Rehersal – Saturday 3rd June 2017
3-5pm Candidates and Sponsors
Please note that the confirmation sponsor must be a practising Catholic and available for the rehearsal on 3rd June.

Sunday 4th June 2017 – CONFIRMATION MASS Time TBC
Candidates and sponsors to arrive at 45mins before the start time